Baby It’s Cold Outside

December 10, 2009 at 10:19 pm Leave a comment

Well, I wanted a Michigan winter, and I seem to have gotten it…Mind, there aren’t the heaps of snow (it seems we’ll leave that to Iowa right now), but it is cold. Supposedly, right now it’s 11 degrees F, and feels like –6. Lovely.

And because I’m apparently sadistic, I decided to go for a run today. In my defense, I wanted to sort of test my limits, see what I could physically take. Remember, this is my first real winter of running, and my first winter in Michigan as well. Aside from the frigid temps and high wind, it was actually quite nice outside. The sun was shining and there was no precipitation, so I figured, why not go out and run.

The first mile was pretty bad. I could barely open my eyes because of the wind. I warmed up though, which basically just meant that my lower half was nice and warm (even my exposed ankles), and my upper half was still cold. My arms were only cold when I moved them, my back when the wind was blowing, and my face the whole time. Honestly, I half expected to come back to complete frostbite…

I was running in my non-running gear, as I did laundry today, and everything was still drying. I’m still up in the air about what I still need, however, but some sort of ski mask would be nice, as would a windproof jacket. Dear Santa…

In the eating world today, dinner was the only thing worth talking about. I made Snobby Joe’s, because they’re nice and warm and spicy and delicious.

I even froze some this time (hence the lines in it)! I need to start doing so more often.

I also made some Trader Joe’s Cornbread to go with. This is my favorite cornbread ever, which is why I made it a muffin tin. Already portioned out :) This is only half the box, leftover from the last time I made some.

Altogether now:

Carrots as well. Because I love carrots.

Dessert involves some sort of combination of the following (I’ve only eaten the clementine right now) and The Office Christmas special!

Which I’m watching buried in a blanket, because I only just now found the thermostat. Our window has ice on it :(

Happy Holiday season!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Last Vestiges of Thanksgiving Making Christmas “Cookies”

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

