Last Vestiges of Thanksgiving

December 7, 2009 at 8:18 pm Leave a comment

I used up the last of my Thanksgiving turkey today! I brought back a bunch of turkey from home, and have been mostly using it to make sandwiches. However, while perusing the Mushroom Channel today, I found a recipe that seemed perfect, Turkey Fricassee with Mushrooms. According to the recipe, a fricassee is “poultry in a stewed preparation with a creamy sauce”, although this one is thickened with eggs instead of cream or milk (good thing, because I ran our of milk yesterday).

I halved the recipe, and made a few changes – it was so easy to make! I used:

  • a bit of butter
  • ~1 T olive oil
  • the rest of my turkey – probably a little more than a cup or so, chopped up
  • ~1/4 of a large onion
  • 2 cloves garlic, one diced
  • 1/2 cup white wine
  • ~5 oz crimini mushrooms, sliced
  • ~1 t dried rosemary
  • 1/4 cup vegetable stock
  • 1 egg yoke
  • juice of 1/2 a lemon
  • S&P
  • ~2 T walnuts, toasted on the stove and then chopped, added right before the egg

And then followed the recipe exactly. Mostly, there was a lot of idle time, the rest of the recipe was just chopping and throwing together. I did, however have to improvise a bit on the covered pan…

It seemed to work fine, though.

The recipe also shows it with rice; I used polenta that I had lying around.

What a delicious recipe! I’m actually not a huge fan of turkey outside of in sandwiches and a little for holidays, but the other ingredients were so flavorful, there wasn’t that overpowering “turkey” taste to the dish. I was a little worried about the egg, but it really did just add a creaminess to the dish, and the lemon added a little zing. The polenta was also perfect, it added an extra layer of flavor and texture that I really liked.

I also had some leftover cranberry sauce, which I admit, I mixed in with bites of the fricassee (I love combining all my food together – it’s a habit I picked up in Germany).

A clementine rounded out my meal.

Currently, I’m watching Elf! Yay for Christmas movies :) Have a nice night!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Following Foodie – Columbus, OH Baby It’s Cold Outside

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

