And So It Begins…

November 18, 2009 at 11:14 pm 1 comment

Tonight was the Kick-Off Party for Team in Training. And I am still just as terrified, but now I’m more just really ready to begin the whole thing, get training with the group, and (eek!) start fundraising. The party was really just an overview – I got there late, so I missed the fundraising party (sigh – what I need most of).

At this point, I’m terrified to fundraise, and feeling perhaps a little overconfident on the running side. Which is why I’m really looking forward to this Saturday – the first group run. I’m excited to see what levels everyone else is, and to really meet my teammates :)

I did not run today, alas. I’m planning on running the rest of the week, and had a long day today, so no run. I did, however, do some weight lifting and ab work, which was good (and much needed!). In total, I did:

  • 30 push-ups
  • 100 bicycle crunches
  • 40 reverse crunches
  • 60 oblique twists
  • 10 10-second wall sits
  • 1 minute plank (ugh!)
  • 30 arm curls
  • 30 rows
  • 30 military presses
  • 60 punches with weights
  • 30 arm raises to the front (is there a name for this?)
  • 30 arm raises to the side (or this?)

For the record, I use 5 lb weights, because I am weak, and I have no other weights :)

My food was pretty boring today, because of my hectic schedule (and the fact that I slept a little bit later than I would have maybe liked). Breakfast, I had a Trader Joe’s Whole Wheat Bagel, with crunchy peanut butter and bananas.

The bagel was so good! I like my bagels really soft, and this delivered. Props TJ’s, you once again delivered.

Before work, I ate one of my Stuffed Peppers.

I also packed some snacks to be eaten during my break, because I’m trying to not eat so much bread.

I actually succeeded, too! The only Great Harvest product I ate today was a Peanut Butter Cookie, and only because it was the end of the day, I was facing another couple of hours without food, and I needed a bit of a pick-me-up (oh, and I absolutely love peanut butter cookies).

And then I drove 45 minutes to a distant city in Michigan (it was actually a bit scary; I’m really still learning my way around, especially outside of Ann Arbor) for the Kick-Off Party.

I got back around 9:00 and ate yet another Stuffed Pepper (yup – a combination of laziness and wanting to get rid of them caused this) with carrots and TJ’s Chipotle Pepper Hummus (I’m going to try to be more creative tomorrow with my food, I promise.

Finished off with a scoop of PB&Co’s DCD and Top Chef (go Jennifer!), and that’s my day :)

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Redux Vegan for a Day

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Vegan for a Day « Following Foodie  |  November 19, 2009 at 9:18 pm

    […] today was Perk Up Your Trek Mix after I did some ab work (see yesterday’s workout minus the lifting). I’m pretty sure the mix is vegan (dried cranberries, almonds, pecans, […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

