Prolonging Fall As Much As Possible

November 3, 2009 at 10:01 pm 1 comment

Been awhile, huh? It’s not something I’m happy with, but the truth is I’m still struggling with life a bit, and as a result, regular eating, and healthy eating especially, has gone by the wayside. It’s November, though, I’ve got groceries and a weekly meal plan, and the Phillies didn’t lose last night! So all is good.

Speaking of the Phillies, I had the absolute privilege to attend my first World Series game on Saturday night! As I’m not such a huge fan of Halloween, getting to go experience the Fall Classic (and getting back to Citizens Bank Park!) seemed like a much better alternative.

My brother and I started our night in front of Citizens Bank Park, in a little fair that had been set up out front.

Much to my delight, there was free Turkey Hill Graham Slam ice cream!

Considering this retails for $4-5 inside the park, it was quite the score! I did not get a Helmet Sundae, however :( It got really cold as the night went on, and I was already ice cream’ed out.

There was also free swag, music, and photo opportunities!

Yup, I’m very much not in red, I realize that. But I am rocking my awesome Halloween Phillies shirt! With a flaming pumpkin on the front, and the World Series logo. I thought it was appropriate :)

Inside the park, after more photos:

we made a trip around to see the craziness. There was just such an awesome buzz inside (that honestly, I had felt at the mall, too – Philly is crazy :) so much more powerful than “regular” games. I also stopped to get some Crab Fries.

A local sports bar, Chickie’s and Pete’s, has these awesome fries, seasoned with crab seasoning, that comes with this (horrible for you, I’m sure) white cheese sauce. There’s only one stand for them in all of the public parts of Citizens Bank Park (the ritzy seats have their own…), and once, my brother and I waited in line for almost 3 full innings to get them. No lie. And yes, they are worth it!

We had pretty good seats, but for the first hour, this is all we saw:

I ate a cheesesteak while waiting, but it’s unpictured, because I honestly think I scarfed it before thinking of taking a picture. Finally, though, the game began, and in true Phillies fans fashion, the rally towels were flying!

Unfortunately, though, that awesome energy only lasted the first few innings, as the team pretty much fell apart :( Loss or not, though, being able to attend a World Series game, in Philadelphia, was an amazing experience.

But now I’m back in Michigan, and must resign myself to merely watch on TV, and hear the awesome stories of my brothers, who are doing cool things like meeting players’ family members…C’est la vie.

Last night, I used an Acorn Squash that’s been sitting in my kitchen for quite sometime to make a recipe that’s been sitting in my “To Make” folder for just as long, Christina’s Roasted Acorn Squash with Corn Pudding. I made a few changes, namely using red pepper instead of green, omitting the jalapenos, and adding a quarter of an onion, chopped. My bacon was also Applewood smoked.

Oh my gosh, was this good! The only thing I would do differently next time (and there will be a next time!) is not using so much milk – it ran over my squash bowls. It’s so sweet and savory and filling; amazing! So good, I had no problem having it for dinner again tonight, with carrots and Trader Joe’s Chipotle Pepper Hummus (which has quite the kick to it!).

My dessert was more Great Harvest Biscotti. And some milk.

And some Biggest Loser. Which I’m going to finish now, and then go to bed!

Go PHILLIES!!!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Jetzt geht’s los! The Best Thing About Regular Running? The Eating!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Luna  |  November 8, 2009 at 11:49 pm

    Hello Jessica!!tell me, were you running in Ann Arbor today!?!I went at the old train station (don’t remember the name of the place!) for lunch and I saw two girls running,and one looked just like you!! :D

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

