Catch Up

October 21, 2009 at 8:37 pm Leave a comment

So, my eats have been pretty horrendous lately. Basically, I’ve been subsisting on a diet of bread, bread and more bread. Don’t believe me? Look at what I brought home from work on Saturday:

It’s approximately seven loaves of bread. Don’t worry – most of them are in my freezer right now. I haven’t yet gotten to the point where thrown away bread doesn’t effect me, and since we’re not open on Sundays, there’s a lot of stuff to throw (or give) away. We do donate to a local food bank, but things like muffins and such don’t get given, and the loaves of bread we have on our bread board get tossed. So I took as much as I could :)

I have been making a fabulous morning bowl of oats (though it’s warm again now), which looks a little like this:

I use:

  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1/2 cup Unsweetend Vanilla Almond Breeze
  • 1/2 cup water
  • pinch of salt

and cook those together. When the liquids are almost absorbed, I add a dash of vanilla and either cinnamon or Pumpkin Pie Spice, depending on my mood :) I mash and microwave half a banana for about a minute, and when the vanilla is cooked in, I turn the heat off, add that, 3 T canned pumpkin, and handful or so of chopped walnuts. I also add Almond Breeze as needed (depending on how creamy the oats are). Topped with some Peanut Butter and Co. Mighty Maple and a few more walnuts, this bowl is divine.

Other than that though, I’m ashamed of what I’ve been eating. But I am working on making it better. For instance, I went to the Farmers’ Market today and picked up some awesome stuff:

Hopefully tomorrow night I’ll be making something I made awhile ago, that is more than worth blogging about :)

I also got new running shoes :) Thank god – I honestly don’t think I could have run another mile in my old ones. They must have had 500+ miles on them – I bought them back in April, and since then, I have pretty much run 6 times a week. Including two half marathons…Yeah, more than time for new shoes.

I went with the Mizuno Wave Inspire 5 for two reasons. I was really happy with my old Asics, but the store I went to had neither the pair I had or the newer version in stock. And I’d like to try a new kind of shoe – I’ve only ever seriously run in my Asics, and I’m still not sure exactly what I’m looking for in a running shoe. I figure I’ll definitely have to buy a new pair before my next big race, so I have plenty of time to wear these out :)

I took these on a nice 4 mile run today, and aside from some lingering quad pain from Sunday (I have a nice stretch session planned for tonight). I managed around an 8:45 pace, which is fine by me :) Though honestly, I can’t believe I ran that for an entire 13.1 miles – I’m pretty proud of myself!

So that’s my life right now. I’m working on getting back into a good groove, with work and eating well, etc. Life’s hard, guys! (Hopefully) Until tomorrow!!

PS – GO PHILLIES!!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Done and Done The evening run that almost wasn’t

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

