Short Pre-Race Update

September 25, 2009 at 7:07 pm Leave a comment

Well, it’s just about time. In a little more than 12 hours, I will be starting the Run Woodstock Hippie Half-Marathon in Pinckney, MI. Hopefully I won’t be running it in the rain, but the forecast doesn’t exactly look favorable:

This and the fact that it’s a difficult trail race add quite a bit to my already present pre-race jitters. Basically, I’m freaked out.

At the same time, though, I’m so excited! The last few weeks I maybe haven’t been training as much as I could have been, but I think I’m in pretty good shape and should be able to finish it. I’m actually glad it’s a trail race, because I really won’t be all that worried about my time – I’m really just doing this to finish (if all goes well, there’s hope for a road Half in the near future that I might be signing up for)!

I’ve been mentally and physically preparing for the race all day. I’ve been trying to eat a good balance of protein and carbs (more carbs than proteins, that is), I ran an easy (well, maybe not as easy as it should have been) 3 mile run, I stretched (and will again), and I’ve been just relaxing  (and hydrating) all day. All I can do now is get excited, and hope for the best!

Wish me luck!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Portion Musings, and Lots of Leftovers! This is It!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

