Waxing Poetic

September 24, 2009 at 7:35 pm Leave a comment

A few days ago, I made these muffins:

I used Megan’s Healthy Banana Walnut Bread recipe, but I figured my lazy brother would eat them if they weren’t in bread form (spoilers: I’ve eaten most of them myself). They’ve been a big part of my food life recently – they’re delicious. For instance, I had them alongside a glass of my favorite:

I think my favorite part of the muffins is the fact that I didn’t mash my banana that well, so I get nice big chunks of banana throughout:

I also had one for an afternoon snack today, and I might have snuck one into my dessert tonight as well:

So what’s in it? Allow me to explain. After finishing Cooking for Mr. Latte today (which made me want to go out to a specialty grocery store and buy it out…), I wanted something decadent for dessert. Ideally, I would bake something chocolately, but I’m lacking cocoa powder and everything I searched for came back to it. So then I went to my other (current) favorite flavor profile – maple syrup/cinnamon. I debated making Maypole Maple Raw Ice Cream, but I’m also feeling the need for some protein, so I turned to my bff, Greek yogurt. Specifically, Trader Joe’s Organic Greek Style Yogurt (vanilla because that’s all I had). 

I then copied the model of my favorite dessert ever, but with a twist. Enter Peanut Butter & Co’s Mighty Maple.

I think I might have mentioned it before, but Peanut Butter & Co’s peanut butters are my favorite things ever. Namely, the Dark Chocolate Dreams variety. I have taken down many a jars of it – my favorite way to eat it is straight out of the jar (terrible, I know, but I really can’t help it).

This was my first time trying Mighty Maple, though, and it does not disappoint. The maple flavor is prominent and delicious – I can’t wait to use this in oatmeal!

Anyway, I microwaved about a tablespoon for 30 seconds, added the yogurt, stirred it to make a mousse, and then crumbled a muffin on top. Decadent? Definitely. A little too rich? Maybe. I think next time, I’ll use regular Greek yogurt instead – I think I’m about to go into a crazy sugar coma :)

(And yes, this certainly doesn’t look much like getting back on track, but to me, eating regular meals that are relatively healthy and not crazily snacking in between is most important, and this I’m sticking to. Also, dessert is important in my life.)

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Microwave Mishaps Portion Musings, and Lots of Leftovers!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

