Getting back on track

September 23, 2009 at 10:40 am Leave a comment

So the past couple of days, I’ve been eating pretty poorly (and that goes even beyond Sauerkraut Balls and the likes), mostly due to job and life related stress. Yesterday, I felt pretty awful all day, which caused me to stress out even more – I don’t want to be sick (or even not feeling my best!) for my Half-Marathon on Saturday!

My biggest vices are definitely carbs and sweets – I’m a true believer that life without dessert is really just no fun at all – but usually I’m satisfied with one Super-Charge Me Cookie, a piece of dark chocolate or a bowl of yogurt and peanut butter. However, more recently it’s been two (or more!) cookies, too many M&Ms (a road trip “gift” from my aunt), and leftover pizza my brother got. *Sigh*. Yeah, pretty ridiculous.

Last night, though, I finally decided enough was enough. I felt gross, had a headache, and knew that all the months of running I’ve done to prepare for Saturday would probably be for naught if things continued on.

So, I made myself a super simple dinner, that actually turned out to be pretty delicious, and much more satisfying than all the junk I’ve been subsiding on recently. I started out baking a sweet potato (one of my absolute favorite go-to foods) in the oven on 375 for an hour. Usually, I just microwave it, but I had time, so I wanted to try the oven method – next time I think I’m going to bump up the heat a little, as I ended up having to finish it in the microwave anyway (after an hour, I was getting impatient!).

While that was cooking, I caramelized some onions on the stove in olive oil and water. When they were nice and brown, I added some garlic, kale, and baby spinach. I let it sauté a bit, and then finished it with some salt and pepper. The result? Delicious greens!

And altogether now:

I think I over-salted the greens a bit, but they were still good! I ended up eating it all together, and I think in the future I might actually just cut up the sweet potato and put it in the pan with everything else. I can imagine this being a huge go-to meal for me during the winter!

I then did something unthinkable – I watched the end of the Phillies game and then went to bed without dessert! I debated it for a few minutes, but I knew that my body needed a break from sugar in general. It turned out to be the right decision – I feel much better today.

Today is already off to a much better start. I got up to run with my new running buddy, which was pretty good – we went about 4 miles in 35 minutes (I’m trying to just do short runs this week) – although I felt pretty wrecked by the end. I showered and made myself a nice bowl of yogurt, fruit and muesli, and then did laundry.

I hope to do a little strength training, stretch, and then figure out the rest of my day – perhaps a trip to the Farmers Market is in order :)

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Following Foodie – Zinzinnati, USA Microwave Mishaps

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

