Finding my feet.

September 3, 2009 at 11:03 pm Leave a comment

Tonight was what I’ve been looking forward to most in Ann Arbor – a group run sponsored by the local running store! Tonight was “ladies night” as well, so the run was free for ladies, and guys had to pay a dollar (no guys showed up tonight…). Being completely new to the area, I was a little nervous about running around (which is why I was so excited for the group run in the first place), but we were actually given little sheets of paper with the route on it. I actually paired off with someone as well, and she acted as my “guide” as well as my motivation – we kept each other at around a 9 minute/mile pace during a 5.5 mile run. It was such a nice night for running, too – I guess I have to take advantage of the nice weather while I can (ie, before it becomes freezing with 10 feet of snow on the ground!).

So, hopefully this means that I can get myself back into the running groove, which will help me get back into an eating groove as well. I actually ate breakfast this morning (shocker!), and although it was nothing special, it was just nice to get up and eat in a regular fashion (even if it wasn’t after my run).

Yup, same old same old, even to the point of having prepared it at home in Philly – it was meant to be eaten on the road, and I only ate a tiny bit, so I’m working my way through it now.

My day today was filled with tons and tons of shopping of the Ikea and Target variety. I forget how much I love Ikea – there’s so much fun stuff there, for so cheap! I got a ton of kitchen supplies, as well as a stand for the TV. Our living room is now set up…Now I just have to get my bedroom in order!

I was stupid and didn’t think to eat anything before leaving for our shopping extravaganza (well, that’s sort of a lie – I snacked on a Peanut Butter Cookie Larabar on the ride there), and so all through Ikea, the only thing I could think of is the cinnamon buns there.

I had absolutely no problem demolishing one.

After we returned I worked on applying to jobs – I don’t understand how anyone ever *gets* a job! I really hope I hear from at least one of these places, even if it’s just for an interview – not hearing back at all is always so depressing. I also snacked on some of the bread I got at the Ann Arbor Farmers Market, complete with honey and blueberry jam from Lancaster, PA!

I then had my running excursion (I ate my banana/PB/potassium pill beforehand), and when I got back, I was so tempted to just eat something crappy, akin to all the stuff above, but I realized that the only way to “get back on track” was just to suck it up, and I’m really happy I did – dinner was delicious (and not all that hard to prepare).

Whoops – I didn’t realize the sandwich was so hard to see! Note to self: work on food photography skills!

After seeing so much okra all around the blog world, I was ecstatic when I saw it at the farmers market! I was a little hesitant to eat it plain (the only okra I’ve ever had was the fried variety…), so I toasted it on the stove with a little olive oil and dill. I’m still not quite sure how I feel about it (the gummy inside texture took a little getting used to), but dipped in ketchup, it was actually pretty good.

My sandwich consisted of Food for Life Ezekiel Bread (I don’t know what it is, but this bread has really not been doing it for me recently. After the Low Sodium disaster, I decided to get the 7 Sprouted Grains, but it’s almost as unexciting as the previous!) spread with Laughing Cow Light Swiss, topped with spinach, and completed with a Trader Joe’s Chili Lime Chicken patty, which I cooked on the stove. I love these patties – they’re so so flavorful, and so easy to prepare. So yeah, I guess I still used "”crutches” for dinner tonight, but I felt so much better about this one than many of the other meals I’ve been eating recently.

And tonight? Getting our living room organized! It actually looks like a real place now – tomorrow I’ll post before and after pictures. I’m really happy with it :)

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Welcome to the Future Accomplished

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

