A (Coco)Nutty Day

August 27, 2009 at 10:25 pm 1 comment

Yes, I need work on my post titles. I realize this, and am trying my hardest to change ;)

To be fair, today was a pretty nutty day, and I ate a bunch of coconut, so. Not too bad.

Today, we dropped off my brother Marcus (who featured in this post) at college. He’s starting his first year at Delaware Valley College, studying Turf Management and playing baseball. He’s four years younger than me, and about as different from me as is possible (rarely ever do we see eye to eye on ANYTHING), but this summer we’ve found a common interest in the home team, and as a result, have grown pretty close. I wish him all the best and all the luck in the world as he starts on this new journey – I know he’s gonna do amazing!

That aside, onto the coconuts! No run for me this morning, but I did wake up and prepare a delicious Green Monster, as well as a white peach (that was all but going bad).

I love the addition of coconut to my Green Monsters. It adds such a nice flavor, as well as a little texture, as I don’t blend it up the whole way.

We left for DVC at around 10, so I packed some snacks, as I didn’t know when we would be eating.

I ate the cashews in the car (I was really hungry today as well), and then ate the Larabar while walking around – I didn’t end up eating lunch until around 2!

We got Marcus all set up, and explored the campus a little bit. His college is very agricultural, so it’s absolutely beautiful, and is surrounded by farmland.

It also has it’s own farmer’s market, where the college sells it’s own produce and has it’s own creamery! I’m so upset I didn’t visit it sooner, as it had so much fresh produce, as well as farm-fresh milk, which is something I haven’t been able to find elsewhere in the Philadelphia area. I did get to take advantage of the milk with my “kiddie-sized” chocolate dirt ice cream cup.

I’m not sure quite what was in it (maybe some sort of cookie crumb?) but the ice cream was amazing. The chocolate was so rich, and although the ice cream wasn’t exactly creamy, the flavor more than made up for that. I ate the ice cream before my tomato, basil and mozzerella panini (or is it panino?), which was delicious (and huge! I only ate 3/4, and even that was pushing it), but not as fresh tasting as the ice cream was.

Eating and walking – the way to go.

It was quite sad leaving him – if there’s anyone in our family who kinda “glues” the family dynamic together, it’s him. But still. I’m excited for him to begin his future…

When we arrived home I decided to go on a 3 mile run on the trail, just to stretch out my legs a little bit. Aside from the horrible cramp I got after the first mile (I guess all that dairy wasn’t such a good idea), where I stopped and walked for ~.1 mile (which I never do), I managed to finish in about 26 minutes (I forgot my watch, another thing I’ve never done before).

Dinner was another conglomeration of leftovers – kale salad, lemon dijon green beans, a piece of asiago bread with a little butter, and a half white peach.

Everything was really satisfying, in a way my meals haven’t been in awhile.

For dessert I was really craving a cookie, so when I picked up my brother from Driver’s Ed I stopped by Hope’s Cookies, a local cookie place that has won Best of Philly 9 times for their cookies. Even better, their cookies are 100% natural, using no preservatives, artificial colors or flavors. They have a lot of fun different flavors, but I was craving peanut butter, so with peanut butter I went.

I also had a glass of milk – I almost never drink milk, but cookies and milk really are the match made in heaven.

And now, with a happy tummy, it’s time for bed. Night!

Technorati Tags: ,,
Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

PDR! Phillies! For the last time.

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Fall Has Fallen « Following Foodie  |  September 29, 2009 at 8:57 pm

    […] for dessert instead of yogurt-based ones (I have been *craving* a nice, large, gourmet cookie (Hope-esque :) for so many days, I just haven’t cashed in […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

August 2009
M T W T F S S
    Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

