PDR!

August 26, 2009 at 7:52 pm 1 comment

Man, my plan for this morning’s run changed about three different times; I’m not thrilled with the final route / plan that happened, but I’m absolutely thrilled about my Personal Distance Record of 11 miles!

Originally, I was planning on on trying out this trail, the Schuylkill River Trail, that runs (oddly enough ;) along the Schuylkill River. In total, it runs about 19.6 marked miles to Philly, so I figured it would be the perfect place to do my planned 10-12 mile run. Unfortunately, Philly’s trails and parks aren’t known to be the safest, and I was a little worried about going alone so I asked my brother to go with me. As brothers do, though, he bailed at the last minute (to be fair, he’s leaving for college tomorrow, so I guess I understand).

I then figured I would run to the trail here (which is only 2.4 miles) – it’s probably around a 2 mile run to the trail itself, so I figured it would be a good way to get some distance in. I don’t think that trail opens until 7am or around there, though, and the route I would have to take to run there has a lot of traffic lights and traffic, so I nixed that idea as well.

Finally, I just decided to use my 4 mile loop, which is pretty quiet and without a lot of hills, and just run it as many times as I felt I could. In preparation for my Half-Marathon, I decided to run both with Sharkies (which I’ve never done before), as well as a running pack (fanny pack thing), as I’d like to start running with my cell phone, especially when I move and am not at all familiar with the area.

I ate three Sharkies after about an hour of running (without water, even though I’ve heard that can help with cramping). I didn’t experience cramping at all. As far as actual performance, I definitely experienced a surge of something – I could see a lot more clearly (if that makes sense), and if nothing else, it was fun to eat sugary snacks while running :)

I wore a Nathan’s Rabbit xi, in which I was able to fit my Sharkies, a couple of dollars, my ID, and my cell phone. I put the Sharkies in the front pouch for easy access, and was put everything else underneath, with room to spare. I have to admit, I didn’t really love wearing it, as it shifted around a lot, though it did get better when I wore the pack part of it to the front (yes, I was most likely wearing it wrong). It chafed a little bit, but all in all, I was able to wear it for all 11 miles, mostly comfortably.

The run itself was pretty great (aside from the first mile, where I definitely felt the crappy food I ate yesterday – I actually thought I was going to have to turn around!). I felt really strong, and I was even able to finish strong, running up the hill on my street without too much difficulty. I finished in 1:42.48, which is around 9.15 min/mile. Not too shabby.

I chugged some Gatorade when I got home, while preparing my breakfast, which I ate after I showered.

Yup, same old same old, although there was some mango in there for some extra yumminess.

I could definitely feel the effects of my run all day today. I was really tired, and so hungry all day! For lunch, I resorted to an old fav, zucchini on a French Meadow Bakery bagel with some pesto, spinach and parmesan. On the side, I had a kale salad – nothing unusual there either, and a slice of farmer’s cheese.

Sorta boring, maybe, but completely satisfying.

This afternoon, I went grocery shopping with my mom (nothing for me, I promise!) and snacked on Peanut Butter Cookie Larabar. I could eat those everyday, I swear.

Later in the afternoon, I also had a “snack bowl” of two of my favorite Trader Joe’s products, Peanut Butter Pretzels and Perk Up Your Trek Mix (dried cranberries, golden raisins, almonds, pecans, chocolate covered espresso beans).

And then I passed out on the couch for about an hour. Oh summer. I’m going to miss you so much…

My apologies, as dinner was also not that interesting. I had another Sunshine Burger on asiago bread with pesto, raw cheddar and roasted zucchini – boring, perhaps, but so good.

On the side was a recipe of Kath’slemon dijon green beans. I’ve made these maybe four or five times this summer – they’re so easy and delicious!

I’ve stopped following the recipe exactly, I just use the ingredients and add until it looks good, which explains the huge amount of almonds – I love any kinds of roasted nuts.

You need:

  • Fresh green beans
  • butter
  • dijon mustard
  • juice of one half lemon
  • dill
  • roasted almonds (in a 350 oven until nice and brown)

Saute the green beans in the butter, add the dijon, lemon and dill, and then add the almonds. Delicious every time!

Now I’m lounging on the couch – my plans for the rest of the night include stretching and some sort of fun dessert – we’ll see about that tomorrow :)

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

A Little (too much) Indulgence A (Coco)Nutty Day

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

August 2009
M T W T F S S
    Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

