The best laid plans…

August 23, 2009 at 12:12 pm Leave a comment

So I was supposed to go to the Pennsylvania Renaissance Faire today, but you know what they say about the best laid plans…

So instead, I guess it’s just me and the Phillies today. Oh well. There are worse ways to spend the day…

But anyway. I did actually get around to my run yesterday – I went 3.75 miles right around a 9 minute pace, so, considering it was pretty hot and humid, not too bad.

After I got home, I snacked on some cashews and TJs Peanut Butter Pretzels (yes, they really are as good as advertised).

Yesterday was my brother’s 18th birthday (Happy Birthday, Quis!), so for dinner, we drove (through the torrential rains) to Delaware to visit an old family favorite, Bugaboo Creek Steak House. It’s a Northeastern chain, I think, that has a sort of Northeast/Canadian vibe. I’m definitely not a huge fan of chain restaurants, but in a family of seven, four of whom are boys, they’re usually the safest bet to please everyone (especially my father, who’s fronting the bill).

Not feeling up to one of their crazy looking drinks, I stuck with water the whole night, which turned out to be a good idea, as I had a pretty wicked headache. I passed on the Lumberjack Fries (basically just potato wedges) that my brother ordered, but I couldn’t go without a piece (or two) of the bread they bring out.

I like to think that it’s whole wheat, and it’s so soft and sweet and delicious. Sadly, that was pretty much the best part of my meal. For my entree I ordered an appetizer, the Grilled Jumbo Lump Crab Cakes.

The plate that came out was pretty sad, with some wilted lettuce and two small crab cakes. The black bean and corn salsa that it was supposed to come with was missing, but when I asked about it, it was brought out.

The salsa was better than the crab cakes, but it also seemed to be a little too sweet, like sugar or the likes was added. Overall, a not-too-great meal (though, for the record, the rest of my family really enjoyed it).

When we got home, I stayed up to watch my brother open his gifts, and might have snacked on a few more pieces of the lemon pistachio white chocolate cookies from the Farmer’s Market.

This morning I intended to wake up at 5:30 to run before church, but there’s that occurrence of the “best laid plans” again, and instead I rolled over and went back to sleep. I think it was for the best, though, because I slept pretty poorly last night. Before church, I had half a Peanut Butter Cookie Larabar (my favorite!!).

Once I got home, I was feeling the need to run, so after eating my PB banana, I set out to do 4.25 miles. I managed it in 39.28 (~9.18 pace), which I’m perfectly happy with, as it seems the entire route I chose was hills!

Breakfast/post-run fuel was a green monster, the same as yesterday.

And that brings me to now, when I’m trying to figure out my now open day. Who knows, maybe I’ll figure out something fantastic…Wish me luck! :)

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Famer’s market madness Decadent Dinner (and some lunch, too)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

August 2009
M T W T F S S
    Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

