Famer’s market madness

August 22, 2009 at 1:24 pm 1 comment

In my honest opinion, groceries and a farmer’s market can make any day better, even a rainy day.

I woke up to absolute downpours at 6am this morning, so I decided to postpone my run (as of right now, it hasn’t happened yet, but I have high hopes for this afternoon…) When I woke up a few hours later, I decided to make what for breakfast what I’ve been craving all week, a green monster.

In my green monster, I had:

  • vanilla soymilk
  • 3 ice cubes
  • a couple of TB peanut butter
  • one banana
  • ~two handfuls spinach

I blended that all up, and then I added a handful blueberries, and my secret green monster ingredient, unsweetened coconut. I think it adds such a nice finishing flavor to the drink :)

On the side, I also had a slice of my zucchini bread. I’m not quite happy with it (I actually think it could use less sugar…), but it’s pretty good for a first attempt.

Breakfast kept me full while my mom and I visited a few area farmer’s markets. The first was more of a farmer’s surplus store (and part of a CSA), and so there wasn’t a whole lot to choose from; I got an eggplant and a tomato.

The second one we went to was much more abundant; I came back with lots of fun finds.

With my tomato, eggplant, and basil, I knew exactly what I wanted to make for lunch – Quinn’s eggplant stackers. I didn’t have feta, so I used parmesan instead.

On the side, I made a quinoa salad of cranberries, toasted pine nuts, grated carrots, grapeseed oil and agave.

I really liked how it turned out.

Finally, I finished my pretty epic lunch with a few pieces of lemon pistachio white chocolate cookies my mom bought at the second farmer’s market.

Really really yummy, but I couldn’t really taste the pistachio. I feel like if you’re going to put in such a nut, it should shine through at least a little. But still. I love lemon in anything, so, just a minor complaint.

Now I’m going to go digest a little bit…

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Lazy days of summer The best laid plans…

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

August 2009
M T W T F S S
    Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

