Shock! An uninspiring grocery store…

August 21, 2009 at 9:03 am Leave a comment

Yesterday

Well, I’m not gonna lie, the Phillies game (which we won 12-3, sweeping the series!) and the premiere of Project Runway (man between that and Top Chef this week I’m in reality TV heaven!) I completely missed the opportunity to update last night. Not that that’s such a loss; yesterday wasn’t the most interesting of days.

We did end up going to Aldi, though I was pretty unimpressed. The concept of it is pretty good, I guess, as most of the groceries only come from one “brand”, and all grocery bags cost money, or you can bring your own, but although they had some sort of Fit and Active brand, that was mostly comprised of low calorie snacks and meals. Unfortunately, there was a decided lack of organic or local products.

From what I could tell, it did seem to be cheaper than many grocery stores (or, the equivalent of buying the grocery store’s brand), but overall I don’t think I’ll make an attempt to go back there. While in the car to Aldi, I finally ate that Larabar I’ve been saving – I learned a while ago that there’s nothing worse than being hungry in a grocery store!!

For lunch, I was excited to try French Meadow’s Sprouted Bagels, which I just recently found in a local grocery store. I toasted one up, and topped it with a slice of heirloom tomato and a tweaked version of the basil-cilantro pesto from Veganomicon (I used the ingredients, but in much smaller quantities, plus a little spinach, for volume. Unfortunately, the quantities were too small, I think, as they didn’t get very well blended in my food processor. Fortunately, it was still delicious, as every recipe I’ve tried from the book so far has been).

The bagel was wonderful! Really soft and chewy, and not dry at all, like some other frozen bagels I’ve had before. On the side, I had an apple from Lancaster, and I may or may not have had a few pieces of the dark chocolate blondies my brother made the other day…

I don’t even really know what I did yesterday – worked a bit on a write-up of my family’s “staycation” and read a lot, and then had a snack at about 3:30 of TJs Just Mango and dates with crunchy peanut butter.

My fridge is still looking a little empty (I need to go grocery shopping today, for real this time), so for dinner I had one of my favorite frozen meals, Trader Joe’s Roasted Vegetable Pizza.

This is definitely my favorite kind of frozen pizza, and is actually one of my favorite kinds of pizza ever. The “sauce” is a kind of caramelized onion sauce, it’s topped with artichoke and roasted red pepper, the crust is whole wheat, and it’s cheeseless. The first time I tried it, I sprinkled some parmesan on top, but since then, I’ve just eaten it as is. I ate about half the pie, and had to physically restrain myself from eating the whole thing. Yum. Dessert was more of my brother’s blondies (my am I going to be glad when they’re gone).

Today

Now that’s we’re all up to date – this morning, I woke up at around 6:15, ate my standard pre-run snack (banana with PB and potassium pill), and was out the door at 6:30 for my morning run. And my was it a nice one. I ran 7 miles in 1:08.06 (~9.41 min/mile), which is a little slower than I would have liked, but it just felt so good that I can’t even really complain.

I came back super sweaty, but threw together my Greek yogurt and pre-cut fruit (that I had leftover from Wednesday) before showering. Add in some flax and some TJs Blueberry Muesli, and you have my standard breakfast fare.

I tend to eat pretty much the same thing for breakfast every morning (with a few exceptions every once and awhile). Summer, I have yogurt/fruit, and during the winter, I’ll usually eat a big bowl of oatmeal. While I like mixing up lunch and dinner, it’s just nice not to have to think too hard about breakfast, as I’m usually eating right after some sort of exercise, and am usually starving.

So, I think that’s all for now, folks. Hopefully I’ll have a grocery update sometime later in the day…How exciting!

Technorati Tags: ,,,
Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Phillies! And a rough morning… Lazy days of summer

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

August 2009
M T W T F S S
    Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

