Lazy days of summer

August 21, 2009 at 9:48 pm 2 comments

The most exciting thing I did today was make zucchini bread. Not that I don’t love to bake (and I do love zucchini bread), but still. Not the most interesting of days. I guess I should appreciate it now while I have it – soon enough I’m going to be missing these days of leisure something awful.

I think the bread came out pretty well – I amended a recipe my mom had in her collection, and I probably could tweak it more, but for some on-the-spot substitutions, I think it turned out pretty well.

Zucchini Bread

  • 3 cups grated and drained zucchini (~1 large zucchini)
  • 2 cups sugar (this is the one thing I’d like to change – I did bump it down from 3 though…)
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 cup applesauce (the recipe calls for 1 cup oil and 1/2 cup butter – I just realized I forgot to put the butter in!)
  • 3 cups flour (I used half white/half wheat)
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Mix together zucchini, sugar, eggs, applesauce. Sift in flour, powder, soda, cinnamon, salt, beat together. Pour batter into two greased loaf pans and bake for ~1 hour or until a toothpick inserted into center comes out clean.

While I wasn’t making zucchini bread, I was eating. For lunch, I got to have what I consider to be the best of all “fast” food – a Pret a Manger sandwich.

Pret a Manger is basically just a sandwich shop – they sell a wide range of pre-prepared sandwiches and salads, meant for businesspeople as a quick lunch. As far as I know, they only exist in New York (and maybe DC?) in the US, but Pret and sandwich shops just like it are all over the UK. I love the idea, and wish we had more places like it here in the US – the food is freshly prepared, and is such a better alternative to typical fast food places.

Oh, and the sandwiches are delicious, too.

My dad brought me two home from New York, and my mom and I each had half of both. I *think* one was some sort of cheese and cucumber, and the other was avocado, cilantro, onion, and lettuce.

With carrots, they made for the perfect lunch.

A little later in the afternoon, I snacked many, many grapes, as well as on some Rosemary Quackers from One Lucky Duck.

I really truly want to like these (especially considering the price tag), but I really think I should have gone for the plain. The rosemary is really overpowering, and they almost taste greasy? I’ll finish the bag, but I probably won’t buy them again.

For dinner, I reheated the TJs Roasted Vegetable Pizza from yesterday (still so good), and steamed up some broccoli, which I mixed with a Laughing Cow wedge and some parmesan.

For dessert, I had my absolute favorite dessert ever.

It might not look like much, but it’s so easy, and so delicious. I take some sort of peanut butter (tonight I used my favorite, Peanut Butter and Co’s Dark Chocolate Dreams, though when I use regular, I usually add a little honey), melt it a little in the microwave, and add to it a single serving of vanilla Greek yogurt (plain works as well). Mix well, and then crumble in a graham cracker topping of your choice (when I have them, TJs Chocolate Graham Toucans are my graham of choice), tonight I just used regular. Mix together, and you’re good to go.

I could eat this every night. Seriously, I lick the bowl when I’m done.

So if you’ll excuse me now, I’m going to go watch my Phillies hopefully rally out of this horrible start…

Technorati Tags: ,,,
Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Shock! An uninspiring grocery store… Famer’s market madness

2 Comments Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

August 2009
M T W T F S S
    Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

