Phollowing Phoodie – Philadelphia Part 1!

August 20, 2009 at 12:07 am Leave a comment

(When talking about Philadelphia, it is common practice to “ph” every “f” sound’; I’ll keep my doing of that to the post title :)

Yesterday I got to experience two institutions of my hometown – the Philadelphia Zoo and a Phillies game.

Before departing for the zoo, I packed some snacks, as I was doubtful of what the zoo would have to offer. I packed Trader Joes Just Mango dried mango, Trader Joes Peanut Butter Pretzels and Perk Up Your Trek Mix (my favorite trail mix ever – it’ has chocolate covered espresso beans, almonds, pecans, dried cranberries and golden raisins), a Peanut Butter Cookie Larabar (my personal favorite) and a Peanut Butter and Jelly Larabar. A little excessive, perhaps, but I wasn’t sure that I was going to be eating lunch, so I wanted to be prepared. This ended up being good planning, as we didn’t return until almost 3:30, and I ate everything but the PB&J Larabar.

The Philadelphia Zoo is, as banners throughout the zoo remind you, the oldest zoo in America, celebrating its 150th year this year. I’m on the fence about how I feel about zoos – for the most part, I do believe the Philly zoo is doing a good job of breeding endangered animals and educating the public about said animals, but it’s also quite disheartening to see the animals in such small enclosures. Just recently, we actually got rid of our elephants due to lack of adequate space.

Regardless, I did really enjoy myself. I went with my mom, who delights as much as I do in reliving parts of my childhood – when I was younger, we were members of the zoo, and used to go ALL the time!

I’ve always really liked the entrance to the zoo:

The animals were so active today! I don’t think I’ve ever seen so many out and about and roaming around. We saw pretty monkeys,

Silly rhinos,

Playful orangutans,

Lazy tigers,

Majestic bald eagles,

Amusing giraffes,

Prim and proper bears,

And a friendly warthog!

I haven’t been to the zoo in probably eight years, so it was a lot of fun to revisit it.

When I got home, I was absolutely starving, even with my snacks, so I made a repeat of the sandwich I had yesterday (baguette, cucumber, spinach, roasted squash, pizza cheese), though I cut the half in half this time. On the side, I had a piece of the farmer’s cheese I bought in Lancaster, and a dark chocolate chip blondie my brother made (is there anything remotely healthy about it? No, probably not. But I need to take advantage of my brother baking when I can, because it’s usually me doing all the work in the kitchen :)

It was all delicious. Shortly thereafter, my brother and I embarked to quite possibly my favorite place in Philadelphia…the home of the Phillies! However, I must get to bed, so I’ll save the recap of that for tomorrow…

Technorati Tags: ,

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

A Normal Summer Morning Phillies! And a rough morning…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

August 2009
M T W T F S S
    Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

