Phillies! And a rough morning…

August 20, 2009 at 12:01 pm 2 comments

*Sigh*. And I was so excited about my running “off day” too…

But first, the Phillies game. What a fun night! This is actually the ninth game I’ve gone to this season (yes, I’m a bit obsessed), but it was no less exciting. Actually, I would consider it one of the best games I’ve ever been to.

Citizen’s Bank Park, home of the Phillies, was actually rated to have the Best Ballpark Food by the Food Network in 2007 (which I completely agree with), and in 2007 and 2008, it was named as America’s most vegetarian-friendly ballpark by PETA (although quite honestly, amid the cheesesteaks and BBQ sandwiches, this is sorta difficult to see…)

My brother and I got to the game super early (and didn’t have to pay for parking!), received our Brad Lidge bobblehead, had our picture taken about a million times (for the Phillies website)

and found the perfect batting/pitching practice standing area.

After BP was over (and my brother had snagged a fly ball!), we made our way to our seats.

Deciding what to eat at CBP is always a thing of great difficulty for me – especially with such delicacies as Philly cheesesteaks (which you really, truly can only get in Philadelphia – no where else even comes close), a Schmitter (an even more unhealthy version of the cheesesteak, if possible), crab fries (yes, I know, we’re not on the Chesapeake, but omg these fries are amazing) and roast pork sandwiches. (Yes, I have actually had all of these things, and yes, I do love them all. Don’t judge ;)) I finally decided on a different Philly classic, the soft pretzel.

As well as my favorite thing to get at any ballpark, the helmet ice cream.

I have a bit of an obsession with these souvenir helmets – this summer alone I think I’ve collected ~15 of them from various teams? (No, I haven’t eaten all the ice cream, I promise!)

The game was all too short, and with a little help from the Phillie Phanatic

the Phillies won!

This morning, though, was not so much fun. I woke up at 8:00am and just felt kinda “blah” – a little congested and a little nauseous. I’m sure it had nothing to do with all the refined sugar and flour from last night…

All I wanted for breakfast was a green monster, but as I have neither spinach nor any kind of “milk” in my fridge, I had to make due with what I had.

I toasted up what I thought was one slice of Ezekiel 4:9 Low Sodium Sprouted Grain Bread, but it ended up being two (one of which I topped with honey), and then cooked up an egg, a slice of heirloom tomato, and a slice of the Canadian bacon I got in Lancaster.

Usually, I really enjoy what I’ve dubbed my “faux English breakfasts”, but today I just picked at it. Unfortunately, I think that’s partly due to the bread. I love the other Food for Life products I’ve tried, but with the Low Sodium bread there just seems to be something missing (…probably the sodium). I did drink all of my green tea, though, so hopefully that will help. I also have the PB&J Larabar from yesterday in my bag. My mom and I are off to Aldi, which I’ve never been to in America. I used to go in Germany all the time, though, so I’m excited to see how they translate over here. And hopefully I can re-stock my fridge a little bit…

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Phollowing Phoodie – Philadelphia Part 1! Shock! An uninspiring grocery store…

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. A (Coco)Nutty Day « Following Foodie  |  August 27, 2009 at 10:25 pm

    […] we dropped off my brother Marcus (who featured in this post) at college. He’s starting his first year at Delaware Valley College, studying Turf […]

    Reply
  • […] buying gifts for each other, we each draw a name. I was so excited for my gift – I drew my Phillies-loving brother, and actually bought for him the picture that I used for that post, as well as baseball-related […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

August 2009
M T W T F S S
    Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

