A Normal Summer Morning

August 19, 2009 at 10:19 am 1 comment

Ah, finally, a typical morning-in-my-life. My alarm went off at 6:00 and I eagerly jumped out of bed pushed the snooze button twice before getting up to change and stretch.

I pre-fueled with my normal fare, half a banana with Crazy Richard’s, potassium pill and water.

As per usual, I walked down to the end of my street (I live on a cul-du-sac) to warm up a little, stopped to brace myself a bit (hey, it’s all part of the ritual), set my clock, and I was off!

I did what I like to call my “lazy run”, which is a 3.75 mile loop with a few (small) hills. I usually use this run to do some speedwork, but for whatever reason, this morning I just wasn’t feeling it. I felt good enough during the beginning of the run, but halfway through I hit that wall, and had to slow down considerably. I did manage to finish relatively hard (I live on a pretty decent hill, and no matter how hard I run, going up it at the end of every run kills me every time) and in a respectable 34:50. Not too shabby, but I’m definitely looking forward to my rest day tomorrow.

I came home nice and sweaty, but before showering, I cut up some fruit (the other half of my banana, half a peach, half an apple I got in Lancaster, and half an orange), threw it in a bowl and mixed in some Greek yogurt (today I used plain Chobani, but I’m not picky; I usually just buy whatever’s cheapest) before putting it in the fridge for it to sit while I showered.

Freshly showered, I put together the rest of my breakfast – green tea with mango(Bigelow brand – quite delicious!), and a multivitamin. Into my yogurt bowl, I put ~a teaspoon of Bob’s Red Mill Flaxseed Meal and TJ’s Blueberry Muesli, which is a favorite of mine and contains barley flakes, rye flakes, dried blueberries, corn flakes, and brown rice puffs, among other things.

A few mixes with the spoon, and it was ready to eat! I love the way the muesli adds such an extra amount of creaminess to the yogurt when it really starts to come together, and the dried blueberries are such a nice surprise every time I bite into one.

I’m just going to finish up reading some blogs before going upstairs to do my modified C&K 10 Minute Strength Routine (I love that it takes so little time, yet I feel so accomplished for doing it!)

I think my mom and I are planning a little trip to the zoo today, so hopefully I’ll have another exciting post later today :) Have a good one!

 

Technorati Tags: ,,
Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

A (Slightly More) Normal Day in the Life Phollowing Phoodie – Philadelphia Part 1!

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

August 2009
M T W T F S S
    Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

