A (Slightly More) Normal Day in the Life

August 18, 2009 at 8:02 pm 1 comment

My goal for today was to take you through what has been a pretty typical day during this (final…?) summer vacation of mine, and I succeeded…almost.

I woke up about 8am, which isn’t quite normal for me. I like running early in the morning, both because it gets pretty hot and humid here, both things I like to avoid while running, and also because I do a lot of running along roads, and there’s so much less traffic at 6:30 in the morning. Today, however, I was so tired after yesterday, and figured it would be a good idea to rest a bit, especially considering I think my legs are still feeling my 9.4 mile run from Sunday.

I started my day a bit abnormally as well – usually I like to have yogurt and fruit, but after not eating a proper dinner yesterday, my body was screaming for something more substantial. My last Alvarado Street Sprouted Wheat Onion Poppy bagel was exactly what I wanted. I toasted it, and topped it with Crazy Richard’s peanut butter (my absolute favorite) and a half a banana. The first time I tried it, I was slightly worried about the onion/peanut butter/banana combo, but it’s actually quite delicious.

Also pictured are my water, multivitamin and green tea (in a Snoopy mug :)), which are all morning staples for me.

After breakfast I finally did some strength training (which I’ve been neglecting), stealing moves both from the C&K 10 Minute Strength Routine and the 30 Minute Shred. I also took my brother out driving (he turned 16 in May, and as I’m 22, I’m “allowed” to drive with him…it’s only slightly terrifying ;)).

This breakfast was certainly substantial – it held me over until I returned from driving at almost 2pm! I threw together a fun sort of sandwich using leftovers and veggies from my fridge:

  • half a Panera whole wheat baguette
  • summer squash, which I roasted in a 350 oven for ~30 minutes with a sprinkling of rosemary, olive oil and S&P
  • a few slices of cucumber
  • spinach, and the absolute star,
  • Gena’s "Pizza Cheese" (which was the first thing I made when I got my new food processor!)

I also had a peach, which I only ate maybe half of, as it was extremely overripe.

My afternoon mostly consisted of trying to figure out this blog (with lots of help from another brother – thanks Paul!) until 4:00, when I decided enough was enough, threw on my running gear and headed out towards the trail that runs through our township. I’m not a huge fan of the trail (mainly because it only runs 2.4 miles), but it’s a nice place to run when I’m looking for an easy-ish run of exact mileage. It was a little too hot and humid, so I suffered a bit during the middle part of my run, but I’m still glad I went. Before I ran, I fueled up with half a banana with peanut butter (this combo is central to my life), water, and a potassium pill (I get pretty bad cramps, so I like to be pre-emptive).

Stats:

  • 5 miles
  • 45.40 minutes
  • ~9.07 min/mile (sadly, I don’t have a Garmin, so I just use Map My Run for calories, distance, and approximate times)
  • ~512 calories burned.

After my run, I came home only to have to pick up yet another brother (I have four, all younger, so I help out with them when I can), and then came home to throw together a salad for dinner. It’s one of my favorite salads to throw together, and is something I partially adapted from one I found on epicurious.com. I take half a bunch kale, a handful or two of spinach and dress it with olive oil, balsamic vinegar and a little agave, and “massage” it over the kale and spinach. I then top the salad with chopped shallots (tonight I used a red onion), dried cranberries and toasted pine nuts.

I like to marinate it, so while it sat in the fridge, I went up and took a shower.

To complete my meal, I toasted up the final slice of cranberry pecan bread I got from the NY Union Square Greenmarket with a slice of Hillacres Pride raw sharp cheddar (from Lancaster, but that I got at a more local farmer’s market). This is the first time I’ve had raw cheese, and I kind of love it. So sharp and a bit crumbly – it melts so well!

And that brings me to now. I’m currently waiting on a Phillies rain delay. I think I’ll make some of Gena’s banana soft serve, topped with a piece of Hershey’s dark chocolate :) ‘Night!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Lancaster, PA – Home to Amusing Names A Normal Summer Morning

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

August 2009
M T W T F S S
    Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

